Korean Lesson 1

Many things have happened since I last posted, much to my annoyance, but to make things short, my Coworker and I are now friends, except our ideas of friends are clashing. He’s a lot more physical than I’d like, for one. However, we promised one thing: to teach each other our respective languages.

Today was our first lesson.

Him: Let me teach you about greetings. Most of them will be in the polite form.
Me: Sure!

This was what I got (there was also a short pronunciation lesson as well; he is a teacher, after all):

SEE YOU LATER.
다음에  뵙겠습니다. (formal)
다음에 보자.
보다 = to see

I WILL SEE YOU THERE.
거기(에)서 뵙겠습니다. (formal)
거기(에)서 보자.
거기에서->학교에서 , 병원에서, 교실에서, 집에서
Ex: 학교에서 뵙겠습니다. (I’ll see you at school.)

SEE YOU SOON.
잠시후에  뵙겠습니다. (formal)
잠시>5분 ,10분
후에(after/later)>전에(before)
Ex 1: 5분후에  뵙겠습니다.  (See you in five minutes.)
Ex 2: 5분전에  뵙겠습니다.  (See you five minutes before our appointment.)

BYE.
안녕히계세요. (formal)
안녕.

I’M COMING.
거의 다 왔습니다. (formal)
거의 다 왔어.
거의 = almost
다 왔습니다/다 왔어 = I’m here
Time information instead of just “I’m coming” in case of speaking to people of higher rank:
곧 도착합니다. (I’ll be there soon.)
곧 도착해.
곧 -> 5분후에
5분 정도 걸립니다. (I’ll be there in around five minutes.)
정도 = around
거의 다 왔습니다.  5분후에 도착합니다. (I’m coming. I’ll be there in five minutes.)

I’M ON THE WAY.
가고 있습니다. (formal) + time information (look above)
가고있어.

Yeah, I got lessons in how to say “bye” as a greeting. I guess my knowledge of ‘annyounghasaeyo’ is well known. >.>

Strange note. This is what he said to me after our lesson:

When you’re learning my language and culture, it makes me feel attracted to you.

About airiseu

I'm a 24-year-old waiting for my next adventure to find me while I document random thoughts and bits of life that I encounter. View all posts by airiseu

One response to “Korean Lesson 1

Leave a Reply

