The Next Step Up

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!! ^^
Okay, this post isn’t about that, but it is Halloween and my Halloween rocked at school. šŸ™‚ So I thought I would like to share the joy. Onto the point of this post:

My life revolves around school and taekwondo – it’s a fact. However, it’s something I don’t mind too much. Well, it’s also because I use taekwondo as an outlet for whatever happens at school and a new thing I added to my life called an “active lifestyle”. I find I quite like it, since it keeps me on my toes. I’ve also taken a liking to the feeling of sore, aching muscles, but I digress.

My brown belt test was last Friday. I was informed two days before.

I was also really sick last week. On top of that, I had a slight fever on Friday. I was sluggishly going through school and teaching 5 fourth grade classes while experiencing chills, headaches, clogged sinuses and aural canals, as well as undergoing a lot of nose blowing and mucus-propelling coughs. I got home, made dinner, took a nap, then went to my friend’s bigger place to practice the forms to taekwondo for an hour.

I got to the taekwondo place and practiced my forms some more. I had all 6 of them down almost perfectly. There were some I needed to think for a second more on certain steps, but it was pretty good, considering how everything was swimming in my head and it felt like me and my body as well as the world were all separate entities. I actually usually feel this way, but when I’m sick, it’s felt a thousand-fold.

As opposed to the “test” to get my blue belt, this was an actual test. There was a group warm-up, then a part for forms with other people with a similar belt level (for me, I had one kid), and kicking. Tons of kicking. I did fairly decently on all of them except for forms. I was called up with one other kid and he announced the one form he wanted to see us perform: the fifth one. I knew it, sure, I thought. I should have known; it was in past tense. I did the first four steps, then nothing. My mind was blank as if my thoughts were written down with a white board marker and someone had suddenly wiped it clean. I started again and this time, I got through half of the form until I had to think for 1.5 seconds. Apparently, that’s a bit too long so we were told to stop. I guess I could also point out I was a lot better than the kid; he didn’t know it at all and ended up following me. Sucked for him when my brain failed me for the second time.

Either way, turns out the forms section only counted for 20% of the test, so I passed it. I got my brown belt today.

Oddly enough, I don’t feel a sense of accomplishment, like I did the previous times I received a new belt. Instead, it’s merely a nick on the stick — counting down until I get my black belt. As far as I’m concerned though, this monthly belt test is just a formality: it really depends on the black belt test I have coming up in late November.

I seriously hope I don’t fall ill that week.

About airiseu

I'm a 29-year-old waiting for my next adventure to find me while I document random thoughts and bits of life that I encounter. View all posts by airiseu

Leave a Reply

