PC Bang: The Continuation

This is in continuation of my previous post on PC bangs.
You can say it’s a basic how-to/instruction post (with pictures) on how to register for an MMORPG game at a PC bang, focusing on Aion because that’s what I decided to play since after 4 years, I apparently forgot my log in information for WoW. >.>;

Since the first time I went to a PC bang, I went an additional two more times. I was so obsessed (I don’t want to admit it but that’s the truth) with playing a MMORPG that the second time I went, I spent a good hour trying to figure out how to register on a MMORPG to be able to play at a PC bang. it appeared to be a bit more complicated because I was foreign on top of how I didn’t know that much Korean. When I finally figured it out, I was in heaven. I had spent some time the night before registering on the Korean site for Aion because I was sure that I would end up playing on a Korean server. Before long, I got to the screen to download the game onto my laptop. Following my previous experience with WoW, I decided this was not a good idea for either my laptop or me. I decided to wait until my next trip to the PC bang.

I clicked on the MMORPG game icon on the main screen at the bang, and signed in on the pop up of Aion’s official page. Then, I saw this other button I could click. You’re supposed to register on another step with your registration number. No matter what, it wouldn’t accept my registration number, so I decided to do some googling. After all, there had to be other foreigners out there who encountered the amazing PC bang and needed to get their online gaming fix, right? Right. πŸ™‚

I finally came across a post on waygook.org – a site/forum dedicated to foreign English teachers in Korea. (“Waygook” means “foreign” in Korean; “waygookin” means foreigner.) This helped me out a lot. I would tell you exactly how I finally got my Korean Aion account completely set up, but you can pretty much just click on that link if you want. All you need to know is that you need to (1) make an account on the Aion site (2) make another account on the I-pin site (3) have your phone handy because they’ll either call you or send you a text with the password/code that you have 2 minutes to enter [yes, they really do count down] and (4) you enter your I-pin log-in information into the Aion site under your account and you’re ready to go!

My third time going to the PC bang (which is, interestingly enough, the next day after my second trip because I kept on thinking about Aion), I decided to bring my camera and take some pictures of my computer station. I didn’t want to appear so obvious so I didn’t take shots of the entire establishment, but who knows? πŸ™‚ Perhaps one day in the future… As it is, this is a good enough preview of what to expect.

Your computer station will resemble something like the following (large monitor, keyboard, mouse, the CPU’s behind the monitor, speakers on either side and noise-cancelling earphones). Call it your temporary home. πŸ™‚

On the bottom right, there are two input windows. This is where your card comes in. You put in the number in bold (in my case, it’s 49) into the field on the left (“μΉ΄λ“œλ²ˆν˜Έ” means “card number”).

Following that, your screen will refresh, in a sense, and transform into something a little different. There will be a new pop-up window showing you your start time and the fee you’ve racked up along with popular games and the game panel will appear along the bottom of the screen.

Let’s take a closer look at the game panel. πŸ™‚

As you can see (from left to right), there’s the icon for MMORPG [massively multiplayer online role-playing games] games like WoW and Aion, then FPS [first-person shooter] games, followed by sports/racing games, then CD games. The icon with the cute smiley face translates to “messenger” and “voice”. This is all rounded off by programs like Microsoft Word and Hangul (the Korean version of Microsoft Word) and other work/school related applications because PC bangs are not only for those who love playing games. πŸ™‚

Since I play a MMORPG, let’s double click on that and you get:

It shows a window that contains all the MMORPGs that this particular facility offers. Then, you choose your game of choice (in my case, Aion) and you begin your playing (after a few more steps)…

I click on the yellow button then the web page pops up where I sign in.

Following that, I get another series of pop-ups including the window that shows all the servers available and this is also when there may be game updates and those are loaded in which you wait some more. Finally, once everything’s in tip-top condition, you can play. ^^

Then… you play!!! This was also when it hit me: MMORPGs require some reading. I remember the quests in WoW. I loved the Quests in WoW! …Aion has quests too and along with the instructions, titles, names, terms, and even my character’s voice — everything‘s in Korea. It’s annoying when you try to look up a word in my phone’s dictionary only to realise they had made up the term for the game. Thanks for nothing. haha… however, it makes it all the more interesting so I’m not complaining (too much).

Except after I came back from the PC bang tonight (I started this post earlier in the day), I decided that there are many downsides. I don’t know how to chat on it, for instance. So many people have chatted on it and even to me (all in Korean) and I encounter some problems: (1) I don’t know how to chat on Aion, period, (2) I don’t know half of what they’re trying to say to me, which leads me to (3) even if I could reply, I would have no idea what to say other than how I’m a foreigner and my Korean sucks.

Even so, I’m almost at level 8 and it’s great fun. I’m already thinking about the next time I’m playing Aion. ^^
This is a bad thing, indeed.

About airiseu

I'm a 24-year-old waiting for my next adventure to find me while I document random thoughts and bits of life that I encounter. View all posts by airiseu

Leave a Reply

