Korean Lesson 2: Basic Sentences

Remember my first Korean lesson way back in March? Well, school’s back in session!

My old Coworker and I have been exchanging emails and on our last one, we both noted how his English has taken a slight nosedive so a deal was put into effect once more: he would get to practice his English through our emails and I pretty much demanded that he teach me and allow me to practice Korean. He got right into it, haha.

Although it is on the more basic side, I decided since I’ve never taken a formal Korean language class before, I might as well start from the bottom to build up a somewhat stable foundation.

Like he stated before he began — from today let’s practice korean little bit.

** All names, if any, are made up.
*** Content has been cleaned up and organised for your viewing and my reviewing pleasure.
**** Somewhat off-topic: I actually learned how to write the HTML code for tables just for this post. ^^ I hate formatting.


An Introduction to Very Simple Sentences


I’m [a(n)] _[name/title/noun]_.

There are two ways to put this in Korean:

  1. 난 ____다,  ‘다’ being the informal ending.
  2. 전 ____입니다, ‘입니다’ being the formal/polite ending.

Brief Note on Using Formal and Informal Language–

  • 난 is the shortened form of 나는. “나~” is the informal way of referring to oneself.
  • 전 is the shortened form of 저는. “저~” is the formal way of referring to oneself.

–>  “나… 다” is paired with one another as is with “저… 입니다.” Refrain from mix matching.

Only use informal language with those younger than you and with friends.
Use formal language with those older or if it’s at a first meeting or professional setting.
If you’re not sure, it’s best to stick with formal language just in case.

Examples:

Korean Romanised Translation
전 김민우입니다. Jeon Kim Min-woo imnida. I’m Kim Min-woo.
전 교사입니다. Jeon gyosa imnida. I’m a teacher.
전 한국인입니다. Jeon hangukin imnida. I’m (a) Korean.
전 남자입니다. Jeon namja imnida. I’m a man.
전 운전자입니다. Jeon woonjeonja imnida. I’m a driver.
전 학생입니다. Jeon haksaeng imnida. I’m a student.
전 회사원입니다. Jeon huisawon imnida. I’m a company employee.


You are [a(n)] _[name/title/noun]_.

“당신” (Dangshin) is the magic word–

Korean Romanised Translation
당신은 김민우입니다. Dangshineun Kim Min-woo imnida. You’re Kim Min-woo.
당신은 교사입니다. Dangshineun gyosa imnida. You’re a teacher.
당신은 한국인입니다. Dangshineun hangukin imnida. You’re (a) Korean.


S/he is [a(n)] _[name/title/noun]_.

“그” (He) versus “그녀” (She)…

  • 그는  ……입니다. = He is [a(n)] _____.
  • 그녀는  ……입니다. = She is [a(n)] _____.


Using 넌 and 너는
(you, but impolite)…
It’s not often used and if it is, it’s only among close friends.

About airiseu

I'm a 29-year-old waiting for my next adventure to find me while I document random thoughts and bits of life that I encounter. View all posts by airiseu

2 responses to “Korean Lesson 2: Basic Sentences

Leave a Reply

